AGM elects shareholder representatives

Supervisory Board of RWE AG is constituted and elects Dr. Werner Brandt as Chairman

At the Annual General Meeting of RWE AG held today, the following shareholder representatives were elected under Item 8 of the agenda to the Supervisory Board on the basis of individual voting (election results shown in brackets as a percentage of votes submitted in each case):

  • Dr. Werner Brandt, Business Consultant (93.62%)
  • Maria van der Hoeven, former Executive Director of the International Energy Agency (96.44%)
  • Prof. Dr. Hans-Peter Keitel, Vice President of the Federation of German Industry (93.39%)
  • Martina Koederitz, Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of IBM Central HoldingGmbH, of IBM Deutschland GmbH and of IBM DeutschlandManagement & Business Support GmbH as well as Managing Director of IBM Munich Center GmbH (95.88%)
  • Dagmar Mühlenfeld, Lady Mayor (ret.) (77.65%)
  • Peter Ottmann, Attorney-at-Law, District Administrator (ret.),Member of the Board of Management of GemeinnützigeWohnungsgesellschaft für den Kreis Viersen AG (until June 2016), Managing Director of Verband der kommunalen RWE-Aktionäre GmbH (as of May 2016) (66.87%)
  • Günther Schartz, Administrator of the District of Trier-Saarburg (65.71%)
  • Dr. Erhard Schipporeit, Independent Business Consultant (93.25%)
  • Dr. Wolfgang Schüssel, Federal Chancellor of Austria (ret.) (95.31%)
  • Ullrich Sierau, Lord Mayor of the City of Dortmund (71.60%)

The assembly of delegates elected the following employee representatives as members of the Supervisory Board on 2 March 2016:

  • Reiner Böhle, Chairman of the Group Works Council of RWE International SE
  • Sandra Bossemeyer, Chairwoman of the Works Council of RWE AG
  • Frank Bsirske, Chairman of ver.di Vereinte Dienstleistungsgewerkschaft 
  • Arno Hahn, Chairman of the Group Works Council of RWE 
  • Andreas Henrich, Senior HR Business Partner Segment Grid Participation of RWE International SE
  • Harald Louis, Chairman of the General Works Council of RWE Power AG
  • Monika Krebber, Deputy Chairwoman of the General Works Council of RWE International SE
  • Ralf Sikorski, Member of the Main Executive Board of IG Bergbau, Chemie, Energie
  • Marion Weckes, Head of Department of Codetermination at Hans Böckler Foundation
  • Leonhard Zubrowski, Chairman of the Group Works Council of RWE Generation SE

The minimum share of 30% female and 30% male representation is thus achieved both on the shareholder and on the employee side. After the AGM, the new Supervisory Board of RWE AG was constituted. From among its members, Dr. Werner Brandt was elected Chairman of the Supervisory Board. Frank Bsirske was re-elected Deputy Chairman of the Supervisory Board. Dr. Erhard Schipporeit was elected Chairman of the Audit Committee.

The members of the Supervisory Board are elected for the period until the end of the General Meeting that will decide upon the approval of the acts of the Supervisory Board members for the fourth fiscal year after the beginning of the term of office; the fiscal year during which the term of office begins shall not be taken into account.

At this year’s AGM of RWE AG 316,361,381 common and 3,015,666 preferred shares were represented.This corresponds to an attendance of 54.95% (2015: 52.16%).

A breakdown of the voting results on all agenda items will be available soon on: